Aloha Discussion:
1. What is your intention for this course (why are you here)?
I know nothing about teaching online and can barely figure out how to do this blog—or if this blog is even “linked” to the right place. I figure I have to dip my toes in the water at some point. I am hopelessly behind on social media and the uses of it and technology in the classroom and want to learn. I have taught no online classes so far but, pending my success at this class, might in the future.

2. What issues do you think are important?
For someone as hopelessly inept at the online world as me (no facebook!), I think technical issues of “how” are important. How do I use this site? How does managing an online class work? How do I know when there are new posts? How do I access them? How do I incorporate blackboard collaborate?

3. How will you contribute?
I can certainly contribute a lot of questions and enthusiasm! Hopefully I can contribute knowledge of pedagogy or working with students (“classroom” management)–the online management could be a whole new world.

4. How would you like to see community develop among participants?
People are the best resources and I would love to see a feasible, easy way to utilize that awesome resource within this community. I don’t know how to navigate this community right now and find the people who are interested in similar topics to me and I don’t know how to find the “seasoned” professionals and online teaching and to extract their wisdom, so I would like to the community develop pathways between us.

5. These types of courses are new for most people. In fact about 90% don’t even participate. How will you overcome the fear of learning in the open and the frustration of using new technology? How do you plan to courageously work through any setbacks, and not give up?

Well, I hope no one is judging here and that we all have the understanding that we came here to learn, share, give and be a community. That understanding certainly alleviates most apprehension. I am fearful of new technology, but have the will and desire to learn more and that should compensate. Intrinsic motivation is going to be a big key!

