Discussion Questions

1. You do not want to just move your face-to-face course to an online version. We suggest re-designing your course to meet the requirements of your online learners. How do you want to teach online? Describe your basic teaching philosophy and role as an instructor. Look deeply and share how you are willing to be open and doing things differently.
I answered some of these in previous blogs. I realized that I would need to be more open and accessible on a personal level due to the distance and purposely weave in some social interaction between the students–at the beginning is best–that allows them to work collaboratively and get to know one another. Right now I do incorporate group work, but I do not use any time for “get to know you” activities. I also liked all the comments I have read on how to do comments! It is important to stress the tone that comes through with writing and that it is just a short agreement or a “good job.” Something new must be added or a more in-depth addition to the idea or a constructive critique.

2. Knowledge is finite and defined. I am an expert in the subject matter who knows more than the students, and thus my job is to ensure that I transfer as effectively as possible that information or knowledge to the student?

It is great to be able to just put all the resources on laulima for them–so that at any point if they lost something or want to know more they can check our their resources and re-see their instruction sheets and rubrics or find the samples that I posted or the websites that I have posted as extra tutorials. Motivated students have a wealth of teacher-picked examples of additional tutorials they can use to get ahead or to help with understanding the current concept.

I liked reading in one of the MOOC’s posts about how we have to say things clearly and concisely. Now, I always tell me students that when they write–do not make it longer than it needs to be! Do not add in superfluous paragraphs! But, as an English teacher, it is easy for me to keep “elaborating” or explaining on and on until I have covered every possible way to define this concept….and lost my audience due to boredom. So pick one or two good procedures, go over them in clear, short steps, and keep the material so that someone sitting at a computer will read. I liked the idea of incorporating 5-10 min videos of me–I can see how that would help with getting to know your teacher and some concepts are best explained.

3. Focus is on developing learners skills and the ability to question, analyse and apply information or knowledge. Do I see myself more as a guide or facilitator of learning for students?
Online I can see the teacher as both depending on the assignment. For discussions, I am hoping to facilitate and let the class take the lead. However when it comes to the actual MLA requirements on this paper and how to find evidence and synthesize it, I think I need to be more of a guide. What I would look forward to is asking students to contribute materials or “sensemaking artifacts” to the announcements or class “board.” I’d love to have a “student wall” where they can post any TIPS or additional materials on whatever we are focusing on that week. Oh, we are learning about comma splices? Cool, someone can post a link to a cool youtube video they found or create a short worksheet and post it. Oh, we are trying to find topics for our big position paper? Cool, someone can post a website of the best pro-con ideas or a website to a really cool magazine where they think students can find a jumping off point.

4.Taking into account the four factors below, decide and describe what ‘mix’ of face-to-face and online learning will be best for your course, and why your “mix” is best.
So, I haven’t taught online yet and don’t know yet if I want to. That’s the main reason I joined this MOOC. I knew absolutely nothing about teaching online before and know I feel I know a lot more about the philosophy and the type of student who signs up, but I feel very lacking in technical details: what are my resources? how do I use them? How do I grade? How do I manage the class? I have no idea!!! If I every do foray into the world of OL, I would like to try a hybrid class first with one day a week of F2F and the other OL. I don’t even know all the acronyms and short cuts–so that takes up a lot of my time. I just learned “F2F” and am just using OL for the online classroom, not sure what the acronym for that is. So, for me, I mix of both would be needed considering how far behind I am in the world of technology….baby steps!

5. I have not taught online yet, thus I can only speculate on how I will manage the class and all the technical details of who commented on what and who posted and what’s going on. Online Classrooms seems like a lot of juggling plates in the air and having to remember toggle between all of them. That part kind of blows my mind. Right now I am only juggling between checking my email and doing this blog!

