Everyone knows this and it is proven time and time again, but a “thank you” reminder is always nice.  I have been pilfering from all the rubric examples people have posted links to–recently and earlier in the MOOC–and now have a good base to choose from.  The best thing besides having an awesome rubric for online discussion is that, by reading them, I understand the expectations for online discussion posts.  They have definitely been informative to me and I can see the scaffolding of what separates a good comment from a great one much more clearly.

The Northern Arizona University site was a particular favorite of mine as well because it provided “classroom management” tools as well, like expectations for “attendance” and participation and “nettiquette.”

http://www2.nau.edu/d-elearn/support/tutorials/discrubrics/discrubric.php

The four methods of Questioning strategies were a helpful read.  I have already, like most teachers, utilized all four (to some extent) in my classroom, but it is nice to see them so clearly defined with key words and examples.  The “Socratic” method was the only one where I knew the actual name to the strategy and I rely on that one a lot–often with quite leading questions when necessary.  In the physical classroom, it is easy to start the “leading question” and then kind of leave it hanging while my facial expression clearly indicates that I expect someone to follow up.   In the online world, I suppose that is what ellipses are for.

Right now the only “online” component to my courses are my announcements on Laulima and my databank of all the materials in Resources.  But next semester I want to take everything I have learned about online discussions and move some of the readings and discussion onto the Laulima discussion board.

 

 

 

